Native American Hall of Honor

Native American Hall of Honor logo

Located between the Innovation Gallery: Early Peoples and the Inspiration Gallery: Yesterday and Today, the Native American Hall of Honor is an annual program and exhibit recognizing Native Americans who have gone above and beyond in representing their tribe and culture. The program is a partnership of the North Dakota Indian Affairs Commission, the State Historical Society of North Dakota, the State Historical Society Foundation, and United Tribes Technical College.

The program recognizes traditional and contemporary achievements in four categories. Nominees can be living or in memoriam.

2018 Inductees:

1941-42 Elbowood Warriors Basketball Team, Mandan Hidatsa Arikara Nation – Sports/Athletics

Betty L. Gress, Mandan Hidatsa Arikara Nation – Leadership

Patrick Moses Gourneau, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa – Leadership

For more information, visit